university of tulsa logo

Bell Distinguished Lectureship

The William and Rita Bell Lecture is a yearly feature housed in the Kendall College of Arts and Sciences. Begun in the spring of 1991, the program consists of lectures with a distinguished visiting professor joining the university faculty every fourth semester. The lectures focus on a topic generally related to Anglican and Ecumenical concerns, and the faculty appointment is made in either the Departments of Philosophy and Religion, English and/or History.

The Rita and William H. Bell Professorship in Anglican and Ecumenical Studies was created in memory of the late William H. Bell, trustee emeritus of The University of Tulsa and individual trustee for the Chapman-McFarlin charitable trust complex.  The professorship also honors his widow, Rita Bell, as well as the Anglican faith and personal commitment to ecumenism of J. A. Chapman and Leta M. Chapman.  Approximately every fourth semester, a distinguished visiting professor is brought to campus to teach and to present a public lecture.


Anna Battigelli, a professor of English at SUNY-Plattsburgh, is the 2017 Bell Visiting Professor of Anglican and Ecumenical Studies at The University of Tulsa. Her specialty is Restoration and eighteenth-century English literature with a concentration in religious and political studies. Battigelli is the author of Margaret Cavendish and the Exiles of the Mind, and she has published extensively on topics pertaining to the long eighteenth century. In March 2017, she designed and administered an international bicentenary conference on Jane Austen called “Jane Austen and the Arts.” Currently, she is editing a volume of essays on Jane Austen.

View complete details of Anna Battigelli lecture.

Past Lecturers
  • 1991 – The Right Rev. Lord Robert Runcie
  • 1992 – Prof. Alfred Corn
  • 1993 – The Right Rev. Edmond L. Browning
  • 1994 – The Rev. Prof. Robert Farrar Capon
  • 1995 – Prof. Robert Kinloch Massie, Jr.
  • 1996 – The Hon. John C. Danforth
  • 1997 – The Rev. Prof. Keith Ward
  • 1999 – The Right Rev. Craig B. Anderson
  • 2000 – Prof. Martha Reeves
  • 2001 – The American Boy Choir
  • 2002 – Prof. Alfred Corn
  • 2003 – Prof. Charles Kimball
  • 2004 – The Right Hon. Lord George Carey
  • 2007 – Dr. Barry Morgan
  • 2009 – Marilyn McCord Adams
  • 2014 – Sarah Coakley
Past Visiting Professors
  • Spring 1991 – Richard E. Wentz
  • Fall 1992 – Alfred Corn
  • Fall 1994 – Robert Farrar Capon
  • Spring 1997- Keith Ward
  • Spring 2000 – Martha Reeves
  • Fall-Spring 2001-2002 Alfred Corn
  • Spring 2005 – Tim Fuller
  • Spring 2006 – Charles Kimrall
  • Fall 2008 – Robert McMahon
  • Fall 2010 – David Corey